About Our Church

Orient Congregational Church was founded in 1717, and is the oldest UCC Church in New York State.  Our beautiful church building, with its Tiffany-style windows, was built in 1843.   

 

Who We Are

The members and friends of Orient Congregational Church welcome all persons, regardless of ethnic heritage, sexual orientation, religious backgrounds, etc.

  • We believe that each person is unique and valuable.
  • We believe that each person is on a spiritual journey, and that each of us is at a different stage of that journey.
  • We believe in the power of peace, and work for non-violent solutions to local, national, and international problems.

 


About the UCC

Intelligent dialogue and a strong independent streak sometimes cause the United Church of Christ (UCC) and its 1.2 million members to be called a “heady and exasperating mix.” The UCC tends to be a mostly progressive denomination that unabashedly engages heart and mind. And yet, the UCC somehow manages to balance congregational autonomy with a strong commitment to unity among its nearly 5,600 congregations—despite wide differences among many local congregations on a variety of issues.

 
June 22 2018

Thursday, May 24

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Sterlington Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Homemaker's Club - 12:30 p.m.  

Friday, May 25

AA - 9 a.m. 

Saturday, May 26

11-Family Yard Sale on church grounds, 8 - 1  

Sunday, May 27

Remembrance Service - 10:30 a.m

Church BBQ - Noon

Monday, May 28

Parade - 7:30 a.m.

AA - 9 a.m. 

Thursday, May 31

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Sterlington Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Homemaker's Club - 12:30 p.m. 

Friday, June 1

AA - 9 a.m.

Sunday, June 3

Celebration of Worship - 10:30 a.m

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.  

Monday, June 4

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Women's Breakfast Club, Crazy Beans, 9 a.m. 

Thursday, June 7

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Sterlington Deli

Building and Grounds workday - 9:00 a.m. 

Homemaker's Club - 12:30 p.m. 

Friday, June 8

AA - 9 a.m.

Sunday, June 10

Celebration of Worship - 10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Monday, June 11

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Women's Breakfast Club - 9 a.m., Crazy Beans 

Thursday, June 14

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Sterlington Deli 

Church Workday - 9:00 a.m. 

Homemaker's Club - 12:30 p.m.  

Friday, June 15

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Saturday, June 16

Elinor Williams Memorial Service, 10:30 a.m.   

Sunday,  June 17

Celebration of Worship - 10:30 a.m.  

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.  

Monday, June 18

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Women's Breakfast Club - 9 a.m., Crazy Beans, Greenport 

Wednesday, June 20

Music and Worship - 5 p.m. 

Wider Missions, 7:00 p.m. 

Thursday, June 21

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m.  

Homemaker's Club - 12:30 p.m.  

Friday, June 22

AA - 9:00 a.m.

Saturday, June 23

Kenneth Newman Memorial Service, time TBA

Sunday, June 24

Celebration of Worship - 10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Church Council - Noon 

Monday, June 25

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Women's Breakfast Club, Crazy Beans - 9 a.m. 

 

 

  

  

 

 

 

 

Join Us!

If you're curious about what a truly nurturing community of believers is like, then you should come to the Join Us section to find out how you can get involved.

 

New Pix

Come to the photo gallery to check out our most recent pictures. 

 

What is UCC?

Find out about the United Church of Christ and the history of this wonderful organization on our What is UCC page.

 

Support Your Church

Find out how you can help support this historic church in your community!

<<  June 18  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Members Login