About Our Church

Orient Congregational Church was founded in 1717, and is the oldest UCC Church in New York State.  Our beautiful church building, with its Tiffany-style windows, was built in 1843.   

 

Who We Are

The members and friends of Orient Congregational Church welcome all persons, regardless of ethnic heritage, sexual orientation, religious backgrounds, etc.

  • We believe that each person is unique and valuable.
  • We believe that each person is on a spiritual journey, and that each of us is at a different stage of that journey.
  • We believe in the power of peace, and work for non-violent solutions to local, national, and international problems.

 


About the UCC

Intelligent dialogue and a strong independent streak sometimes cause the United Church of Christ (UCC) and its 1.2 million members to be called a “heady and exasperating mix.” The UCC tends to be a mostly progressive denomination that unabashedly engages heart and mind. And yet, the UCC somehow manages to balance congregational autonomy with a strong commitment to unity among its nearly 5,600 congregations—despite wide differences among many local congregations on a variety of issues.

 
December 20 2014

Thursday, December 4

Men's Fellowship Breakfast, 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli 

Buildings and Grounds Work Day - 9 a.m. 

Bell Choir Rehearsal - 5 p.m. 

Friday, December 5

AA - 9 a.m.

Saturday, December 6

CPR Certification Class - 10 a.m.

Sunday, December 7

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir Rehearsal - 9 a.m.

Bell Choir Brush-up - 9:45 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - 10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

North Fork Chorale Concert - 3 p.m. 

Monday, December 8

AA - 9 a.m.   

Tuesday, December 9

Church School - 11:30 a.m. (Due to half day at Oysterponds)   

Wednesday, December 10

Music and Worship Committee - 5 p.m.

Wider Missions Committee - 7 p.m. 

Thursday, December 11

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, December 12

AA - 9 a.m.  

Saturday, December 13 

OHS House Tour starts here - 12 p.m.   

Sunday, December 14

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship  10:30 a.m. 

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.  

Monday, December 15

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Tuesday, December 16

Church School - 2:45 p.m.  

Wednesday, December 17

Church Council - Hors D'oeuvres at Pastor's House - 6 p.m.

Church Council meeting - 7 p.m.  

Thursday, December 18

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, December 19

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

Saturday, December 20

Altar Poinsettia Placement - 10:30 a.m.  

Sunday,  December 21

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m. 

Choir Rehearsal - 9:00 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship -10:30 a.m.  Lessons and Carols Service

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m. 

Monday, December 22

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Tuesday, December 23

No Church School due to school vacation  

Wednesday, December 24

Christmas Eve Candlelight Service and Pageant - 4:00 p.m.   

Thursday, December 25

Have a Blessed Christmas! 

Friday, December 26

AA - 9:00 a.m.    

Sunday, December 28

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

No choir today 

Celebration of Worship - 10:30 a.m. - Christmas Carol Service

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Monday, December 29

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

Tuesday, December 30

No Church School due to School Vacation .     

Thursday, January 1

Have a Blessed New Year!

Friday, January 2

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Sunday, January 4

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - 10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Monday, January 5

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

  

Join Us!

If you're curious about what a truly nurturing community of believers is like, then you should come to the Join Us section to find out how you can get involved.

 

New Pix

Come to the photo gallery to check out our most recent pictures. 

 

What is UCC?

Find out about the United Church of Christ and the history of this wonderful organization on our What is UCC page.

 

Support Your Church

Find out how you can help support this historic church in your community!

<<  December 14  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Members Login