About Our Church

Orient Congregational Church was founded in 1717, and is the oldest UCC Church in New York State.  Our beautiful church building, with its Tiffany-style windows, was built in 1843.   

 

Who We Are

The members and friends of Orient Congregational Church welcome all persons, regardless of ethnic heritage, sexual orientation, religious backgrounds, etc.

  • We believe that each person is unique and valuable.
  • We believe that each person is on a spiritual journey, and that each of us is at a different stage of that journey.
  • We believe in the power of peace, and work for non-violent solutions to local, national, and international problems.

 


About the UCC

Intelligent dialogue and a strong independent streak sometimes cause the United Church of Christ (UCC) and its 1.2 million members to be called a “heady and exasperating mix.” The UCC tends to be a mostly progressive denomination that unabashedly engages heart and mind. And yet, the UCC somehow manages to balance congregational autonomy with a strong commitment to unity among its nearly 5,600 congregations—despite wide differences among many local congregations on a variety of issues.

 
March 04 2015

Thursday, February 19

Men's Fellowship Breakfast, 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli 

Buildings and Grounds Work Day - 9 a.m. 

Friday, February 20

AA - 9 a.m.

Sunday, February 22

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir Rehearsal - 9 a.m.

Celebration of Worship - First Sunday in Lent -10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Monday, February 23

AA - 9 a.m.   

Tuesday, February 24

Church School - 2:45 p.m.

Homeless Shelter Ministry - 4 p.m. - Wednesday, 8:45 a.m.   

Wednesday, February 25

Church Council - 7 p.m. 

Thursday, February 26

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, February 27

AA - 9 a.m.   

Sunday, March 1

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Second Sunday in Lent - 10:30 a.m. 

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.  

Monday, March 2

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Tuesday, March 3

Church School - 2:45 p.m.  

Homeless Shelter Ministry - 4 p.m. - Wednesday, 8:45 a.m.   

Wednesday, March 4

Church Supper - 6:30 p.m.  

Thursday, March 5

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, March 6

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Sunday,  March 8

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m. 

Choir Rehearsal - 9:00 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Third Sunday in Lent -10:30 a.m.  

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m. 

Monday, March 9

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Tuesday, March 10

Church School - 2:45 p.m.

Homeless Shelter Ministry - 4 p.m. - Wednesday, 8:45 a.m.   

Wednesday, March 11

Wider Missions Committee - 7 p.m. 

Thursday, March 12

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, March 13

AA - 9:00 a.m.    

Sunday, March 15

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m. 

Choir Rehearsal - 9:00 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Fourth Sunday in Lent -10:30 a.m.  

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m. 

Monday, March 16

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

Tuesday, March 17

Church School - 2:45 p.m.     

Thursday, March 19

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, March 20

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Sunday, March 22

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Fifth Sunday in Lent -10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Monday, March 23

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

  

Join Us!

If you're curious about what a truly nurturing community of believers is like, then you should come to the Join Us section to find out how you can get involved.

 

New Pix

Come to the photo gallery to check out our most recent pictures. 

 

What is UCC?

Find out about the United Church of Christ and the history of this wonderful organization on our What is UCC page.

 

Support Your Church

Find out how you can help support this historic church in your community!

<<  March 15  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Members Login