About Our Church

Orient Congregational Church was founded in 1717, and is the oldest UCC Church in New York State.  Our beautiful church building, with its Tiffany-style windows, was built in 1843.   

 

Who We Are

The members and friends of Orient Congregational Church welcome all persons, regardless of ethnic heritage, sexual orientation, religious backgrounds, etc.

  • We believe that each person is unique and valuable.
  • We believe that each person is on a spiritual journey, and that each of us is at a different stage of that journey.
  • We believe in the power of peace, and work for non-violent solutions to local, national, and international problems.

 


About the UCC

Intelligent dialogue and a strong independent streak sometimes cause the United Church of Christ (UCC) and its 1.2 million members to be called a “heady and exasperating mix.” The UCC tends to be a mostly progressive denomination that unabashedly engages heart and mind. And yet, the UCC somehow manages to balance congregational autonomy with a strong commitment to unity among its nearly 5,600 congregations—despite wide differences among many local congregations on a variety of issues.

 
September 02 2014

Wednesday, July 23

Lectio Divina Biblical Meditation Prayer Group - 9 a.m.

Church Fair set-up - 9 a.m. 

Church Council - 7 p.m.  

Thursday, July 24

Men's Fellowship Breakfast, 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli 

Church Fair set-up - 9 a.m. 

Friday, July 25

Church Fair set-up - 9 a.m. 

AA - 9 a.m.

Saturday, July 26

Church Fair - 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Sunday, July 27

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Celebration of Worship - 9:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 10:30 a.m.

Monday, July 28

Fair Clean-up - 9 a.m. 

AA - 9 a.m.   

Wednesday, July 30

Lectio Divina Biblical Meditation Prayer Group - 9 a.m.

Thursday, July 31

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, August 1

AA - 9 a.m.   

Sunday, August 3

Worship on the Beach - 8:00 a.m. 

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship  10:30 a.m. 

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.  

Monday, August 4

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Wednesday, August 6

Lectio Divina Biblical Meditation Prayer Group - 9 a.m. 

Church Picnic at Orient Beach State Park, 5:00 p.m.  

Thursday, August 7

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, August 8

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Sunday,  August 10

Worship on the Beach - 8 a.m.

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship -9:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 10:30 a.m. 

Monday, August 11

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Wednesday, August 13

Lectio Divina Biblical Meditation Prayer Group - 9 a.m.  

Thursday, August 14

Men's Fellowship Breakfast, Harbour Front Deli, 8 a.m. 

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, August 15

AA - 9:00 a.m.    

Sunday, August 17

Worship on the Beach - 8 a.m.

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Celebration of Worship - 9:30 a.m. 

Fellowship Hour - 10:30 a.m.

Monday, August 18

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

Wednesday, August 20

Music and Worship Committee - 5 p.m.

Wider Missions Committee - 7 p.m.   

Thursday, August 21

Men's Fellowship Breakfast, Harbour Front Deli, 8 a.m. 

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, August 22

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Sunday, August 24

Worship on the Beach - 8 a.m.

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Celebration of Worship - 9:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 10:30 a.m.

Monday, August 25

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

  

Join Us!

If you're curious about what a truly nurturing community of believers is like, then you should come to the Join Us section to find out how you can get involved.

 

New Pix

Come to the photo gallery to check out our most recent pictures. 

 

What is UCC?

Find out about the United Church of Christ and the history of this wonderful organization on our What is UCC page.

 

Support Your Church

Find out how you can help support this historic church in your community!

<<  September 14  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Members Login