About Our Church

Orient Congregational Church was founded in 1717, and is the oldest UCC Church in New York State.  Our beautiful church building, with its Tiffany-style windows, was built in 1843.   

 

Who We Are

The members and friends of Orient Congregational Church welcome all persons, regardless of ethnic heritage, sexual orientation, religious backgrounds, etc.

  • We believe that each person is unique and valuable.
  • We believe that each person is on a spiritual journey, and that each of us is at a different stage of that journey.
  • We believe in the power of peace, and work for non-violent solutions to local, national, and international problems.

 


About the UCC

Intelligent dialogue and a strong independent streak sometimes cause the United Church of Christ (UCC) and its 1.2 million members to be called a “heady and exasperating mix.” The UCC tends to be a mostly progressive denomination that unabashedly engages heart and mind. And yet, the UCC somehow manages to balance congregational autonomy with a strong commitment to unity among its nearly 5,600 congregations—despite wide differences among many local congregations on a variety of issues.

 
April 28 2015

Friday, April 3

AA - 9 a.m.

Sunday, April 5

Sunrise Service, Narrow River Road, 6:00 a.m.

Community Breakfast, Orient Methodist, 6:45 a.m. 

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir Rehearsal - 9 a.m.

Celebration of Worship - Easter Sunday

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Monday, April 6

AA - 9 a.m.   

Tuesday, April 7

Church School canceled due to school vacation  

Thursday, April 9

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, April 10

AA - 9 a.m.   

Sunday, April 12

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Second Sunday of Eastertide - 10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.  

Monday, April 13

AA Meeting - 9 a.m.

Tuesday, April 14

Church School - 2:45 p.m.   

Wednesday, April 15

Music and Worship Committee, 5 p.m.  

Thursday, April 16

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, April 17

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Saturday, April 18

Preschool Summer Camp and Fall Registration, 9 - 11 a.m.  

Sunday,  April 19

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m. 

Choir Rehearsal - 9:00 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Third Sunday of Eastertide - 10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m. 

Monday, April 20

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Tuesday, April 21

Church School - 2:45 p.m.  

Wednesday, April 22

Church Council - 7 p.m. 

Thursday, April 23

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

Friday, April 24

AA - 9:00 a.m.    

Sunday, April 26

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m. 

Choir Rehearsal - 9:00 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Fourth Sunday of Eastertide -10:30 a.m.  

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m. 

Monday, April 27

AA - 9:00 a.m.  

Tuesday, April 28

Church School - 2:45 p.m.     

Thursday, April 30

Men's Fellowship Breakfast - 8 a.m., Harbour Front Deli

Building and Grounds Workday - 9 a.m. 

UCCNY Women's Conference, Painted Post, NY,  through Saturday, noon 

Friday, May 1

AA - 9:00 a.m.   

Sunday, May 3

Quaker Meeting - 9 a.m.

Choir - 9 a.m. 

Celebration of Worship - Fifth Sunday in Lent -10:30 a.m.

Fellowship Hour - 11:30 a.m.

Suffolk Association Meeting - 2 p.m., Old Steeple Church, Aquebogue 

Monday, May 4

AA - 9:00 a.m. 

Tuesday, May 5

No Church School today due to special activity at Oysterponds School  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

  

Join Us!

If you're curious about what a truly nurturing community of believers is like, then you should come to the Join Us section to find out how you can get involved.

 

New Pix

Come to the photo gallery to check out our most recent pictures. 

 

What is UCC?

Find out about the United Church of Christ and the history of this wonderful organization on our What is UCC page.

 

Support Your Church

Find out how you can help support this historic church in your community!

<<  April 15  >>
 Su  Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Members Login